To ensure broad participation from within the inherently complex Mid-Atlantic region, with its nine states and five major ecosystems in addition to the coastal ocean of the Mid-Atlantic Bight, Mid-Atlantic Regional Association Coastal Ocean Observing System (MARACOOS) by-laws require representative directors from each of the five estuaries.

The estuaries include: